#InstaFarce

I snapped a photo of the kids outside painting this afternoon and was about to post it on Instagram (’cause why else take a picture) when I realized the absurdity of the situation.

The picture shows how these kids are happy, healthy (eating a nutritional snack), creative and outdoors. By all rights, I am portrayed as a mom-of-the-year!

What the picture doesn’t show is that this was their first breath of fresh air for the day and this was also the first time they got off their iPads/electronics ALL DAY! and it was at 4pm!

Mom-of-the-year award instrarevoked!!!

I still posted the picture but I ‘fessed up and owned my day. Sure I could reason that the kids were exhausted from a long week outdoors and that I needed to spend the day doing housework and job-searching (electronically induced children make for quiet houses). But if I’m really going to own my shit, then I need to admit that somedays this is just how we roll.  No excuses.

“MOM!!!!” (currently being yelled throughout the house, complete with running and doors slamming)

I guess quiet time is over.

peace & love,

e

Twitter: @pixiepaperdoll7

Instagram: @pixiepaperdoll

The completed masterpieces

The completed masterpieces

4 thoughts on “#InstaFarce

  1. Nonsense – you got them outside! And being creative! And doing something together! 🙂 We can’t be amazing every second of every day, but we’re totally allowed to take credit for the times when we are winning at motherhood. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

