Day 19 (British Columbia) CBC R3 Song of the Day

http://music.cbc.ca/play/artist/Treelines/Let-It-Roll

As a tribute to Canada and my love for Canadian Indie music, I’ve not only created special provincial playlists for my Cross-Canada road trip but I will also be featuring a:

“CBCR3 Song of the Day”

Every day I will showcase a CBCR3 artist from the province where we happen to be travelling. (the rules are simple; simply because I’m too tired for fancy)

Today is Day 19 – we are in British Columbia and the CBCR3 Song of the Day is…… (drum roll please)

Let it Roll, Treelines

I love this song.  I love this band. And I love their bio on the CBC Radio 3 website – it’s brilliant:

If the Weakerthans had a love child with the Gaslight Anthem, and Joel Plaskett raised that child, you would have something close to Treelines. Their music can be described as an unassuming brand of indie rock, often painting a lyrical picture of anything from the old west, to wintry northern landscapes. There’s a quality about this band that can only seem to be described as sounding nostalgic and ‘unintentionally Canadian‘; something you can’t really pinpoint.

Did I mention how much I love this song?  And how much I love this band?

Til Tomorrow,

Team Adventurers

Day 1 (Ontario): Safe and Sound, Hawksley Workman

Day 2 (Ontario): Still, Great Lake Swimmers

Day 3 (Ontario): Take Me Anywhere, Odd Years

Day 4 (Manitoba): One Great City, Weakerthans

Day 5 (Saskatchewan): Mr. Baker, Indigo Joseph

Day 6 (Alberta): Sunshine, The Wet Secrets

Day 7 (Alberta): Black Water, Reuben and the Dark

Day 8 (Alberta): I’ll be a Ghost for You, Rae Spoon

Day 9 (British Columbia): Emerald Lake, Said the Whale

Day 10 (British Columbia): The House that Heaven Built, Japandroids

Day 11 (British Columbia): Two Step, Bear Mountain

Day 12 (British Columbia): Radio, Yukon Blonde

Day 13 (British Columbia): Sweetwater, The Matinee

Day 14 (British Columbia): Yellow Lines, Truckstop Super Friends

Day 15 (British Columbia): Animal, The Pack A.D

Day 16 (British Columbia): Strange Girl, The Zolas

Day 17 (British Columbia): Headphones, Mounties

 

Day 18 (British Columbia): I Want You Back, Dead Ghosts

 

One thought on “Day 19 (British Columbia) CBC R3 Song of the Day

Leave a Reply

