Day 9 (British Columbia) CBC R3 Song of the day

http://youtu.be/7PfwGwQic1c

As a tribute to Canada and my love for Canadian Indie music, I’ve not only created special provincial playlists for my Cross-Canada road trip but I will also be featuring a:

“CBCR3 Song of the Day”

Every day I will showcase a CBCR3 artist from the province where we happen to be travelling. (the rules are simple; simply because I’m too tired for fancy)

Today is Day 9 and we are in British Columbia for our first night and the CBCR3 Song of the Day is…… (drum roll please)

Emerald Lake, Said the Whale.

I love this band!!! Said the Whale is a Vancouver based Indie band formed in 2007. They won a Juno for new group of the year in 2011. I chose their song, Emerald Lake for the obvious (we went to Emerald Lake today) but also for the lyrics, “what a fine life we are living.” Ain’t it the truth.

I think my all-time favourite song of theirs is “Black Day in December” (which made my 2012 CBC R3 playlist) but last year “I Love You” which made in on my 2013 playlist. I also really enjoy their West Coast Christmas EP (very dark and beautiful).

I implore you to check them out – you will not be disappointed!!

Til Tomorrow (or actually later today since I’m a day late with this post),

Team Adventurers

Day 1 (Ontario): Safe and Sound, Hawksley Workman

Day 2 (Ontario): Still, Great Lake Swimmers

Day 3 (Ontario): Take Me Anywhere, Odd Years

Day 4 (Manitoba): One Great City, Weakerthans

Day 5 (Saskatchewan): Mr. Baker, Indigo Joseph

Day 6 (Alberta): Sunshine, The Wet Secrets

Day 7 (Alberta): black water, Reuben and the Dark

Day 8 (Alberta): I’ll be a Ghost for You, Rae Spoon

11 thoughts on “Day 9 (British Columbia) CBC R3 Song of the day

Leave a Reply

