Day 8 (Alberta) CBC R3 song of the day

http://vimeo.com/m/31413241

As a tribute to Canada and my love for Canadian Indie music, I’ve not only created special provincial playlists for my Cross-Canada road trip but I will also be featuring a:

“CBCR3 Song of the Day”

Every day I will showcase a CBCR3 artist from the province where we happen to be travelling. (the rules are simple; simply because I’m too tired for fancy)

Today is Day 8 and we are in Alberta for a 3rd night and the CBCR3 Song of the Day is…… (drum roll please)

I’ll be a ghost for you, Rae Spoon

Rae Spoon is a Canadian musician and writer from Calgary, Alberta. I’ll Be a Ghost for You is the perfect song for us today. I talk to Hoop’s ghost daily-(and lately it’s been more talking, less swearing). This is for his memory that Rain and Moxie hold; as well as our memories of Alberta as we leave this beautiful province in the morning.

I first became a fan of Rae’s music (‘I will be a wall’ made my CBC R3 2013 playlist) but soon discovered that her talents and story run deeper than just her musical expression. The more I unravel, the more I am intrigued.

Check our her outstanding documentary, My Prairie Home. Rae blends her history and self identity with her music and the result is chilling.

I came this close to seeing Rae live 3 times this year but each attempt fell through at the last minute. So for now I’ll enjoy from my Alberta hotel room with a glass of red.

til tomorrow,
Team Adventurers

Day 1 (Ontario): Safe and Sound, Hawksley Workman

Day 2 (Ontario): Still, Great Lake Swimmers

Day 3 (Ontario): Take Me Anywhere, Odd Years

Day 4 (Manitoba): One Great City, Weakerthans

Day 5 (Saskatchewan): Mr. Baker, Indigo Joseph

Day 6 (Alberta): Sunshine, The Wet Secrets

 

Day 7 (Alberta): black water, Reuben and the Dark

12 thoughts on “Day 8 (Alberta) CBC R3 song of the day

Leave a Reply

